1947 - 1980
Subscription Type
Adam Matthew
  • India
  • Pakistan
  • Afghanistan
  • Support for this collection was provided by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Education with funding from the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation.
Resource Types
E-Books and E-Texts
Collection of diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, maps, summaries of events and diverse other material from the British Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) from 1947 to 1980 on all the countries of South Asia: principally India and Pakistan, and also Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Ceylon/Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and the Maldives. The collection is split into three, chronologically based parts. Section I, Independence, Partition and the Nehru Era, 1947-64, covers the period of the birth of the Indian and Pakistani states from the run-up to partition in August 1947 until the death of Jawarhalal Nehru, India’s first prime minister, in 1964. Section II, South Asian Conflicts and Independence for Bangladesh, 1965-71, covers the period from Nehru’s death to the separation of Bangladesh from Pakistan and the subsequent war and humanitarian crisis. Section III, Afghanistan and the Cold War, Emergency Rule in India, and the Resumption of Civilian Rule in Pakistan, 1972-80, covers the 1970s, a decade in which all the main states of the Indian subcontinent all experienced political upheavals and repression in varying degrees. The files in the collection represent the standpoint of British officialdom.