Nineteenth Century Fiction

Nineteenth-Century Fiction collects 250 British and Irish novels by 102 authors from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s. Major novelists of the period such as Austen, Scott, Mary Shelley, Dickens, Eliot, Hardy and the Bronts feature alongside popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and childrens literature. Each text is reproduced in full, including all prefatory matter and annotation by the original author. Bibliographic details are included from each of the editions used along with illustrations where available.

Database Permalink

This permalink is a direct, persistent URL to the database that will always work and won't break.


1782 - 1903

Subscription Type


License Info

Unlimited simultaneous users licensed.


ProQuest Information and Learning Company


English language novels



Resource Types

E-Books and E-Texts

Online Availability

View Online