The Gulag Archipelago, 1918-1956: an experiment in literary investigation

Arkhipelag GULag, 1918-1956. English
Solzhenit︠s︡yn, Aleksandr Isaevich, 1918-2008
Солженицын, Александр Исаевич, 1918-2008

Publication Details Click to collapse Cite/Export

  • Creator Aleksandr I. Solzhenitsyn ; translated from the Russian by Thomas P. Whitney
  • Format Books
  • Publication
    • First edition
    • New York : Harper & Row, [1974-78]
  • Physical Details
    • 3 volumes : illustrations ; 24 cm
  • ISBNs 0060139110, 9780060139117, 0060803967, 0060803452, 0060139145, 9780060803452, 9780060139148, 0060803320, 9780060803964, 9780060803322
  • OCLC ocm00936554, ocm00802879, ocm05756695


  • Drawing on his own experiences before, during, and after his 11 years of incarceration and exile, Solzhenitsyn reveals with torrential narrative and dramatic power the entire apparatus of Soviet repression. Through truly Shakespearean portraits of its victims, we encounter the secret police operations, the labor camps and prisons, the uprooting or extermination of whole populations. Yet we also witness astounding moral courage, the incorruptibility with which the occasional individual or a few scattered groups, all defenseless, endured brutality and degradation. Solzhenitsyn's genius has transmuted this grisly indictment into a literary miracle.


  • Translation of Arkhipelag GULag, 1918-1956.
  • Vol. 3 translated by H. Willetts.
  • Includes bibliographical references.


  • v. 1., pt. I. The Prison Industry. pt. II. Perpetual Motion.--v. 2., pt. III. The Destructive Labor Camps. pt. IV. The Soul and Barbed Wire.--v. 3., pt. V. Katorga. pt. VI. Exile. pt. VII. Stalin is no more
Checking the Web...