P.I. Tchaikovsky violin concerto, op. 35 : complete violin & piano score, critical Urtext violin part, analytical studies & exercises, including the Leopold Auer edition

Studie, op. 19
Ševčík, O. (Otakar), 1852-1934

Publication Details Click to collapse Cite/Export


  • The studies, by Ševčík, originally published in 1930.
  • "Ševčík's pioneering spirit took him in the new direction of writing repertoire-specific exercises. His method of teaching included the writing of short exercises called 'purpose exercises' that addressed a specific technical skill. Ševčík analyzed a concerto, or a virtuoso showpiece, and isolated the inherent technical problems in order to focus on one issue at a time."--Page 4 of cover.
  • Analytical studies & exercises and piano & violin score are reprints of earlier editions. Critical urtext violin part is a modern edition edited by Shipps.
  • Includes violin & piano score and violin part for the concerto, bound separately.
  • Includes editor's introduction in English. Ševčík's exercises include preface and instructions in German, English, French, Spanish, Czech, Polish, Italian, and Russian.
  • Includes bibliographical references.


  • [1] Analytical studies & exercises, op. 19 / Otakar Ševčík -- [2] Violin concerto in D minor, op. 22 / P.I. Tchaikovsky (score + part)
Checking the Web...