Visual display of the Quincy (Packet, 1896-1917)

Quincy (Packet, 1896-1917)

  • ca. 1904
  • BOAT DESCRIPTION: Sidewheel
  • BOAT TYPE: Packet
  • BUILT: Dubuque, Iowa, 1896
  • BECAME: J.S.
  • OWNERS: 1896: Joseph Reynolds, Diamond Jo Line; 1911: Streckfus Line
  • OFFICERS & CREW: 1896: Captain John Killeen (master), Charles Mather (clerk), Ed Paul (clerk), Thomas E. Reardon (steward); 1904: William R. Tibbals (master); 1913: Captain Con McGee (master); 1914: John Streckfus (master), "Jimmy" Haughey (engineer), Bert Edwards (pilot), Edgar Williams (clerk); 1915: Captain Al Day (master), Captain Jack Richtman (pilot), Tom Dolson (pilot); 1916: John Warren (master), Billie Mills (pilot); 1917: Courtney M. Ellis (engineer), Ashley Foster (engineer)
  • RIVERS: Mississippi River
  • OTHER INFORMATION: Ways - 4625; Quincy was built in 1896 using equipment from the Gem City. Her cost was $75,000 and she was considered one of the largest floating palaces of the upper Mississippi. She was also the only steamer Diamond Jo Line had with side wheels. Quincy ran the St. Louis-St. Paul trade and on July 11, 1906 at 10:40 p.m. she hit a stump or tree and was beached at Trempealeau Mountain in Wisconsin. There was no loss of life. She was salvaged and back in service a year later. Under the Streckfus Line in 1911, she tried several trips St. Louis-New Orleans. She was also the last sidewheeler in that run. Quincy was the "brag" packet of the Streckfus fleet. She was so popular that extra rooms were built fore and aft of the wheelhouses on the roof. In 1917-1918 she was converted to an excursion boat, renamed J.S. and plied the upper Mississippi River as well as several trips on the Ohio River
  • PHOTO DESCRIPTION: At La Crosse, Wisconsin
  • Quincy (A)

Details

Photographer
Krebaum, C. A.
Date
  • ca. 1904
Collection
Subjects
Local identifier
  • Neg. 851
For Staff