Pioneering the Upper Midwest: Books from Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin

Publication Details

  • Time-span 1820 - 1910
  • Subscription Type FREE
  • License Information Unlimited simultaneous users.
  • Publisher U.S. Library of Congress
  • Resource Types E-Books and E-Texts
  • Description Pioneering the Upper Midwest: Books from Michigan, Minnesota, and Wisconsin, ca. 1820-1910 portrays the states of Michigan, Minnesota and Wisconsin from the seventeenth to the early twentieth century through first-person accounts, biographies, promotional literature, local histories, ethnographic and antiquarian texts, colonial archival documents, and other works drawn from the Library of Congress' General Collections and Rare Books and Special Collections Division. The collection's 138 volumes depict the land and its resources; the conflicts between settlers and Native peoples; the experience of pioneers and missionaries, soldiers and immigrants and reformers; the growth of local communities and local cultural traditions; and the development of regional and national leadership in agriculture, business, medicine, politics, religion, law, journalism, education, and the role of women. (Updates vary)