Discover Beethoven's 5th : An Interactive Music Experience

Gbs preview button

Publication Details Click to collapse Cite/Export


  • Access requires authentication through Films on Demand.


  • When it comes to the music of Beethoven or any great composer, being able to notice subtle passages and lovingly rendered details greatly enhances our listening enjoyment. You might say that the more we perceive...the more we receive! In this Emmy-nominated and Telly Award-winning educational program, audiences have a chance to discover why Beethoven's Symphony No. 5 remains one of the most cherished works of music more than 200 years after its premiere performance. Host and conductor George Marriner Maull and the Discovery Orchestra "unpack" the symphony's first movement before a live audience-and for the video viewer as well! Following the exploration of the first movement, the orchestra performs the rest of the symphony, preceded by short, enlightening introductions from Maestro Maull before movements 2 and 3. There's no better tool with which to visually follow and stay enraptured with Beethoven's masterpiece!


  • Encoded with permission for digital streaming by Films Media Group on October 07, 2012.
  • Films on Demand is distributed by Films Media Group for Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
  • Mode of access: Internet.
  • System requirements: FOD playback platform.
  • Closed-captioned.


  • First Movement of Beethoven's 5th (9:04) -- Audience Participation (7:56) -- Listening vs. Hearing Music (2:33) -- First Movement of Beethoven's Fifth (1:49) -- Sequence in Beethoven's Fifth (4:06) -- Silence and Chords (1:24) -- Development of Theme (6:47) -- Development: Questions and Answers (4:20) -- Recapitulation (4:52) -- Codas (2:36) -- Beethoven's 5th Symphony: First Movement (7:39) -- Credits and Acknowledgements: Discover Beethoven's 5th: An Interactive Music Experience (1:51) -- Variation and Form: Second Movement (10:36) -- Beethoven's 5th: Third and Fourth Movements (18:25)
Checking the Web...