Prokofiev : The Prodigal Son

Publication Details Click to collapse Cite/Export


  • Access requires authentication through Films on Demand.


  • Here is a breathtaking portrait of one of the 20th century's musical giants, a man who sought to stand aloof from the turbulent events of his time only to be swallowed up and crushed by them. The program offers superb performances of judicious selections of his works, from the barely-known products of his childhood through the canon of his famous works, from solo piano and vocal pieces to orchestral and ballet selections; it also interweaves stills and biographical reenactments with archival footage of the fateful times through which he lived. The questions this program raises about the relationship between Prokofiev's sources, his goals as an individual and a musician, and his musical achievements will inevitably lead to a more thorough examination of his work.


  • Encoded with permission for digital streaming by Films Media Group on May 24, 2012.
  • Films on Demand is distributed by Films Media Group for Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
  • Mode of access: Internet.
  • System requirements: FOD playback platform.


  • Music in Russia (4:18) -- Prokofiev's First Opera (4:30) -- Prokofiev at the Conservatoire (1:39) -- Prokofiev: Unprecedented and Original (4:03) -- Prokofiev: Original and Complex (3:29) -- Rubenstein Award (3:32) -- Outbreak of WWI (2:26) -- Prokofiev Symphony No. 1 (2:06) -- Prokofiev in America (4:12) -- Story of "The Fiery Angel" (8:11) -- Prokofievs in Paris (1:15) -- Prokofiev's Symphony No. 2 (3:27) -- Ballet on a Soviet Theme (3:28) -- Prokofiev in Soviet Union (3:14) -- "Peter and the Wolf" (3:32) -- Soviet Cinema (1:23) -- Prokofiev's Orderly Life (3:05) -- Political Events (4:00) -- Communist Party Links (1:46) -- Nostalgia (1:50) -- Opera: "War and Peace" (4:27) -- Composing in War Time (2:01) -- Prokofiev's Symphony No. 5 (3:15) -- "Ivan the Terrible" (3:54) -- Purge Against the Arts (1:57) -- Lina Prokofiev's Imprisonment (1:12) -- Sergei Prokofiev's Later Years (3:43) -- Death of Prokofiev (3:57) -- Credits: Prokofiev: The Prodigal Son (1:39)
Checking the Web...