Joaquin Rodrigo's century

Gbs preview button

Publication Details Click to collapse Cite/Export


  • Access requires authentication through Films on Demand.


  • Refined, luminous, and fundamentally optimistic, the music of Joaquin Rodrigo is a tribute to the rich and varied cultures of Spain. Filmed on location throughout Europe, this captivating program profiles the influential Spanish composer whose life spanned the 20th century and whose works set the standard for guitar technique in modern Spanish music. Performance clips from his Concierto de Aranjuez, Fantasia para un Gentilhombre, Concierto Andaluz, and other compositions let the music speak, while interviews with many who knew him-family members, fellow composers, musicians, biographers-provide a verbal counterpoint.


  • Encoded with permission for digital streaming by Films Media Group on Aug. 30, 2006.
  • Films on Demand is distributed by Films Media Group for Films for the Humanities & Sciences, Cambridge Educational, Meridian Education, and Shopware.
  • Mode of access: Internet.
  • System requirements: FOD playback platform.
  • In Spanish with English subtitles.


  • Joaquin Rodrigo: Days of his Youth (2:46) -- Joaquin Rodrigo: Development as a Composer (1:56) -- Joaquin Rodrigo in Paris (2:36) -- Importance of Paris to 20th-Century Music (2:56) -- Joaquin Rodrigo in Love (3:29) -- Joaquin Rodrigo: Depressed in Spain (2:06) -- Joaquin Rodrigo Hides in Germany (2:15) -- Rodrigo's "Concierto de Aranjuez" (5:50) -- Joaquin Rodrigo: Back in Spain (3:16) -- Joaquin Rodrigo in Argentina and San Francisco (3:13) -- Joaquin Rodrigos "Concierto Andaluz": Instrumental Virtuosity (3:00) -- Joaquin Rodrigos Music: Appropriate for Dance (1:56) -- Joaquin Rodrigo Composes in Braille (3:17) -- Difficulty of Joaquin Rodrigo's Guitar Compositions (1:47) -- Orchestral Composition for NASA (2:14) -- Joaquin Rodrigo: Worldwide Recognition (2:01) -- Joaquin Rodrigo: Ingenious Composer (2:14) -- World Premiere of "Cantico de San Francisco" (2:02) -- Joaquin Rodrigos Final Years (2:37)
Checking the Web...