Publication Details Click to collapse Cite/Export


  • Restricted: Reproduction of passages exceeding l,000 words in length from the papers of Mitchell Zimmerman requires permission from Zimmerman during his lifetime. Any person who quotes from any of Zimmerman's papers in any publication must send a copy of that publication to Zimmerman.


  • Records of the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee's Arkansas Project initiated in 1962 and of the Arkansas Summer Project begun in 1965, which were designed to combat segregation in public facilities and schools, to assist voter registration, and to raise the consciousness of black citizens. Included in the collection are records of the state headquarters in Little Rock, consisting of files of correspondence, memos, notes, and clippings. Also present are the records of three local SNCC-sponsored citizens' groups: the Gould Citizens for Progress, the Pine Bluff Movement, and the St. Francis County Achievement Committee. Accessions of personal papers of Arkansas SNCC workers have also been added to this collection. These include materials from Laura Foner, William W. Hansen, Collin Minert, Vincent O'Connor, and Mitchell Zimmerman. The records of all these allied groups and individuals consist of correspondence, reports, notes, affidavits and legal papers, and reference
  • The photographic portion of the collection documents activities of SNCC from 1964 to 1966. Included are images of the Little Rock SNCC office and staff meetings, Freedom Schools, Freedom Centers, demonstrations, political campaigns, court hearings, peace demonstrations, and a Black high school. The photographs were made by Brian E. Rybolt, Dwight Williams, and Don Shaw.
  • The processed portion of this collection is summarized above, dates 1960-1966, and is described in the register. Additional accessions date 1965-1971 and are described below.


  • Presented by the Arkansas Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee Office, Little Rock, Arkansas, via William W. Hansen, Howard Himmelbaum, James Jones, and Mitchell Zimmerman, 1966; by Laura Foner, Croton-on-Hudson, New York, 1966; by the Gould Citizens for Progress, Gould, Arkansas, via Carrie Dilworth, Essie Cableton, Mattie Harper, Blanch Newman, Azilee Dantzler, and Hunter Bynum, 1966; by Collin Minert, Madison, Wisconsin, 1968; by Vincent O'Connor and the Reverend Ben Grinage, Pine Bluff, Arkansas, 1966, 1967; by the St. Francis County Achievement Committee, Forrest City, Arkansas, via Gerald Casey and Millard L. (Tex) Lowe, 1966.
Checking the Web...