Land of our fathers

Publication Details Click to collapse Cite/Export


  • "Nationalism soon led to a recognition of the classical value of folksong, and an attempt to express in music the language, landscape, and musical traditions of the composer's own country. Contents include excerpts from: Smetana's Ma Vlast; Dvorák's String Quartet in E-Flat, Symphony No. 9 ('The New World'); Ives' Three Places in New England; Janacek's Katya Kabanova; Grieg's Peer Gynt Suite; de Falla's Homage at the Tomb of Debussy; Vaughan Williams' London Symphony; Kodály's Hary János Suite; Sibelius' Finlandia, Symphony No. 2"--Container.


  • Title from disc surface.
  • Originally produced in 1982 by Polytel Film as one segment of the television program, Music in time.
  • DVD-R.
Checking the Web...