The Pro Arte Quartet : a century of music

Publication Details Click to collapse Cite/Export

  • Creator Wisconsin Public Television original production ; producers, Deb Piper, Joel Waldinger
  • Format Videos, Slides, Films
  • Contributors
  • Publication [Madison, Wisconsin] : Wisconsin Public Television, [2014] ©2014
  • Physical Details
    • 1 videodisc (approximately 2 hrs., 18 min.) : DVD video, sound, color with black and white sequences ; 4 3/4 in
  • OCLC ocn881247765
  • Credits
    • Pro Arte Quartet (David Perry, Suzanne Beia, violins ; Sally Chisholm, viola ; Parry Karp, cello) ; narrator, Randy Riemer
    • Videographer, editor, Michael Eicher ; executive producer, Carol Larson


  • Documentary presenting the history of the Pro Arte Quartet from its beginnings in Belgium in 1911-1912 through its establishment as the quartet-in-residence at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1940 and to the present day. Includes conversations with current Pro Arte Quartet members and John Barker (Pro Arte Quartet historian), interspersed with historic photos, archival newsreel footage, and excerpts from a centennial anniversary concert presented in the Wisconsin Public Television studios on April 27, 2013. Also includes the full concert performance.


  • Originally broadcast on Wisconsin Public Television, April 2014.
  • DVD.
  • In English, with optional English subtitles.


  • Documentary: A century of music (56:41) -- Centennial anniversary concert: Prelude / Ernest Bloch ; String quartet no. 7, op. 87 / Darius Milhaud ; String quartet no. 5 / John Harbison ; String quartet in B minor, op. 11. Adagio / Samuel Barber ; String quartet in G major, K. 387 / Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1:18:13)
Checking the Web...